Subscribe Now

* You will receive the latest news and updates on your favorite celebrities!

Trending News

Blog Post

Appeal Court Sacks Osunsanya, Nods Ijebu Central Partial Election Rerun

Appeal Court Sacks Osunsanya, Nods Ijebu Central Partial Election Rerun 

The Court of Appeal sitting in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, has today dismissed the appeal filed by Hon. Kolapo Osunsanya of the All Progressives Congress (APC) challenging the September 9 verdict of the National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital, in favour of Barrister Taiwo Shote of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Taiwo Shote

In an appeal filed by Osunsanya, he challenged the verdict of the lower tribunal which ordered for election rerun in some areas of the federal constituency.


While delivering judgment today at the Court of Appeal in Ibadan, the Chairman of the three-man panel and Presiding Judge of the court, Honourable Justice Jimi Bada, held that the lower court tribunal did not err in its judgment as claimed by Osunsanya in his appeal, saying the tribunal is justified to act in compliance with the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.

Kolapo Osunsanya

Furthermore, he said one can hardly fault the decision of the tribunal and declared that Osunsanya’s appeal challenging the judgment of the election petition lacks merit.


The court held that the reply of the appellant (Osunsanya) was vague in response to the issue of cancellation that was properly pleaded by the petitioner (Shote).


While dismissing Osunsanya’s appeal and affirming the judgment of the tribunal, the tribunal also ordered that a rerun should be conducted within 90 days in Ward 5, Unit 5 in Ijebu Ode Local Government Area; Ward 10, Unit 3 in Odogbolu Local Government Area and the entire Ward 8 in Ijebu North East Local Government Area.


Recall that the National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal had on 9th of September, 2019, declared that Osunsanya was not duly elected and nullified the Certificate of Return issued to him by INEC.


Taiwo Shote and Kolapo Osunsanya had contested the 23rd February, 2019 National Assembly election for Ijebu Central Federal Constituency which comprises of Ijebu Ode, Odogbolu and Ijebu North local government areas.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *